SUNDAY’S WORD:”Don’t Be Afraid!”

   Matthew 28:1-10 

Jesus' Resurrection
“What can I offer the LORD for all He has done for me? I will lift up the cup of salvation and praise the LORD’s name for saving me.”(Psalm 116:12-13, NLT)(Illustration by Jenn Webster)

Jesus Christ has risen! Alleluiah, alleluiah, ALLEUAH! Today, my friends is Easter Sunday, the day that is celebrated all over the world and commemorates that our Lord and Savior, Christ Jesus, has ultimately defeated death and devil and has been risen from the grave! It is His death and resurrection that has that has saved us from the boundaries of sin and from eternal damnation, while being awarded eternal life!

However, not everyone celebrates this glorious event; In fact, there are some who would rather treat Easter as just another holiday, just accessorize it with candy, jelly beans, and chocolate bunnies…But I would very much like to tell you this right here and now-Easter is certainly NOT about candies, jelly beans, or even the Easter Bunny! No, Easter is about something that is very important, something that concerns someone Who has done the most incredibly powerful thing in order to save each and every one of us-That Someone just happens to be Jesus Christ-He “died a criminal’s death on a cross” (Philippians 2:8b, NLT) so that, by His very own precious blood, we could be saved.

Now, back in the times when Jesus had been crucified, the women did not even know that Jesus had risen; In the 28th chapter of the Gospel of Matthew, Mary Magdalene, as well as another Mary, made a visit to the tomb, three days after Christ’s crucifixion…But all of a sudden, there was a great earthquake! And then, coming down from heaven, there was an angel of the Lord; he rolled the stone aside, and then sat on it! His face began to shine like lightning while his clothing became white as snow. At first, the women were afraid, as well as the guards, who shook with fear and had fallen into a dead faint.

But the angel began to speak to both of the women: “Don’t be afraid…I know you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. He isn’t here! He is risen from the dead, just as He said would happen. Come, see where His body was lying. And now, go quickly and tell His disciples that He has risen from the dead, and He is going ahead of you to Galilee…Remember what I have told you.” (28:5-7, NLT)

Then the women ran quickly from the tomb; Even though they were frightened, they were also filled with great joy, rushing to give Jesus’ disciples the message of the angel.

So it is with that my friends that, on this Easter Sunday, Jesus Christ paid the ultimate price FOR YOU- Shed His blood FOR YOU, and died on the cross FOR YOU! He has paid the debt, and our sins have been forgiven! However, for those of you who still do not know who Christ Jesus is yet, especially on this Easter Sunday-Well, isn’t it about time that you would finally get to know the One who was sent to earth by our Lord God, born from the womb of a virgin named Mary in a stable in a lowly place called Bethlehem, and then grew up and became the One who has performed miracles and healed all kinds of diseases-He even raised a 12-year-old girl from the dead! And then, on that Good Friday, He allowed Himself to be whipped, beaten, forced to carry, and then be nailed to, suffering, bleeding, and then dying on the cross at a place called Calvary. And then, three days later, our Lord God had finally raised His only Son from the dead on that glorious Sunday morning, defeating death as He finally went out of that cold, dark tomb, so that each and every one of us could very well have life eternal.

“For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard. Yet God, in His grace, freely makes us right in His sight. He did this through Christ Jesus when He freed us from the penalty for our sins. For God presented Jesus as the sacrifice for sin. People are made right with God when they believe that Jesus sacrificed His life, shedding His blood.” (Romans 3:23-25, NLT)

My dearest friends, on this glorious Easter Sunday, are you ready to receive the free gift of salvation that has been won for us by the precious blood of our Lord & Savior, Jesus Christ, right now? Then I ask you to please pray this prayer with me: “O Lord God, Heavenly Father, I admit that I am a sinner; I have sinned against You in thought, word, and deed, and I am so very sorry. I believe that You have sent Your Son, Christ Jesus, to die on the cross as the payment for all of my sins, both past and present, and that You have raised Him from the dead on the third day, defeating death so that I could have eternal life. I ask that You please forgive me of all my sins, and invite Your Son Jesus to come into my heart, so that I could follow Him always as my personal Savior. I thank You so very much for sending Your Son to make the ultimate sacrifice to save me. In His most holy & blessed name. Amen.” 

If you have just prayed this prayer with me, then I would like to wholeheartedly welcome YOU into the Family of God! And now that you are a follower of Christ, the very next thing that you need to do would be to read God’s most blessed word, the Holy Bible, each and every day, and then, on this Easter Sunday and every Sunday, go to a good, Christian church, so that you can worship, praise, and thank our Heavenly Father for sending Jesus to sacrifice Himself to save you. I very much hope and pray that you make this most ultimate decision of following Jesus Christ as your personal Savior, not just on this Easter Sunday, but for always. I thank you so very much for reading today; Until next time, may I wish you and yours a very happy & blessed Easter, and may the Lord God ever so richly bless you.

Glory be to the Father, to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

