SUNDAY’S WORD: “Jesus’ Prayer”

John 17:1-5, 9, 11-17 

landscapes-nature-water-river-forest-trees-leaves-red-autumn-beauty-photography-wallpaper-1680x1050
“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.” (Psalms 19:14, NLT)

“Now I lay me down to sleep…I pray the LORD, my soul, to keep…” When I was a little girl before I go to sleep at bedtime, I would pray a very simple yet very small prayer; But now that I am older, I know how to pray prayers very well, and do you want to know why? Because of the fact that I have given my heart to Jesus Christ in order to have a relationship with God 17 years ago, I have learned to pray so very well, not just for the small things, but for the important things as well as in times of trials.
Even Christ Jesus, God’s only Son, had to pray too; He even taught His own disciples how to pray the Lord’s Prayer: “Our Father in Heaven, may Your name be kept holy, May Your Kingdom come soon. May Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven…” (Matthew 6:9b-10, NLT) But as we shall see in the 17th chapter of the Gospel of John vs. 1-5, 9, 11-17(NLT), Jesus knew that He would soon be facing the fact that He would sacrifice Himself for all of us; So Christ began to pray this prayer: “Father, the hour has come. Glorify Your Son so He can give glory back to You. For You have given Him authority over everyone. He gives eternal life to each one You have given Him. And this is the way to have eternal life-to know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, the one You sent to earth. I brought glory to You here on earth by completing the work You gave Me to do. Now, Father, bring Me into the glory we shared before the world began…

…My prayer is not for the world, but for those You have given Me, because they belong to You…Now I am coming to You. I told them many things while I was with them in this world so they would be filled with joy. I have given them Your word. And the world hates them because they do not belong to the world. I’m not asking You to take them out of the world, but to keep them safe from the evil one. They do not belong to this world any more than I do. Make them holy by Your truth; teach them Your word, which is truth.” 
So you see, even Jesus prays; However, He is not just praying for us, as Christians, He is also praying for those who have yet to hear of the most wonderful joy of the gift of salvation that only Jesus Christ could bring through His precious blood on the cross; Yes, to fulfill His Father’s will for you to be saved, Christ Jesus allowed Himself to be beaten, whipped, forced to carry, and then be nailed to, suffering, bleeding, and then dying on the cross, to pay the penalty for all of our sins, both in the past and in the present.

Then, three days later, our Lord God raised His one and only Son from the despicable pit called death, defeating death as He went out of the tomb, so that each and every one of us could very well have eternal life.
“For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard. Yet God, in His grace, freely makes us right in His sight. He did this through Christ Jesus when He freed us from the penalty for our sins. For God presented Jesus as the sacrifice for sin. People are made right with God when they believe that Jesus sacrificed His life, shedding His blood.” (Romans 3:23-25, NLT)

My dearest friends, are you ready to give up on your past lives of sin and to ask our Lord God to repent of your sins and be given the very free gift of salvation that has been won for us by the precious blood of His Son and our Lord & Savior, Jesus Christ? Then I ask that you please pray this prayer with me: “Oh, Lord God, Heavenly Father, I admit that I am a sinner. I believe that Your Son, Christ Jesus, died on the cross for my sins, and that You have raised Him from the dead on the third day, defeating death so that I could have life eternal. I heartily ask that You please invite Your Son into my heart, and to let me follow Him always as my personal Savior. I thank You so very much for allowing Your Son to make the ultimate sacrifice for me. In His most holy and precious name. Amen.” 
Now, if you have just prayed this prayer with me, then I would very much like to welcome YOU into the Family of God! Now, the next thing to do, now that you are a follower of Christ, would be to read the Holy Bible, God’s most blessed word, each and every day; And then I encourage you to go to a good, Christian church each and every Sunday, so that you can worship, praise, and thank the Lord for what Jesus Christ has done for you. I very much hope as well as pray that you make this most blessed choice of following Jesus Christ today, so that you will be with Him for always. I would like to thank you so very much for reading today, and until the very next time, may the Lord God bless you ever so richly.

Glory be to the Father, to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

